Pink Floyd's multi-part songs
One of the stand-out characteristics of Pink Floyd albums is the presence of multi-part songs.  In some cases, these songs were epic in length, consisting of several "movements."  In other cases, albums featured a series of song "sequels" in which several songs were composed around common themes and interspersed throughout the album.  Here is a quick review of these compositions.

Group one: Epics
This class includes multi-part songs that tend to be epic in length and have multiple "movements."  These sections are sometimes

A Saucerful of Secrets (1968)
  • A Saucerful of Secrets
    • Something Else
    • Syncopated Pandemonium
    • Storm Signal
    • Celestial Voices

Ummagumma (1969)
  • Sysyphus (Parts 1-4) 
  • The Narrow Way (Parts 1-3) 
  • The Grand Vizer's Garden Party (Parts 1-3) 

Atom Heart Mother (1970)
  • Atom Heart Mother
    • Father's shout 
    • Breast milky 
    • Mother fore 
    • Funky dung 
    • Mind your throats please 
    • Reemergence 
  • Alan's psychedelic breakfast
    • rise and shine 
    • sunny side up 
    • morning glory

Meddle (1971)
  • Echoes (To the best of my knowledge no names have ever been assigned to the sections of this track)

Wish You Were Here (1975)
Note that this "epic" falls into the category below as well.
  • Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1-5) 
  • Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 6-9) 

Group two: Sequels
Songs in this category tend to be tracks that follow one another thematically.  However, the continuing "theme" may manifest itself differently in each.  For example, in some cases, only the topic of the song may be connected, whereas other songs may share lyrical and musical motifs as well (the "Another Brick" series is probably the best example of the latter category).

The Dark Side of the Moon (1973)
  • Breathe 
  • Time (includes the Reprise of Breathe)

Wish You Were Here (1975)
  • Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1-5) 
  • Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 6-9) 

Animals (1977)
  • Pigs On The Wing (Part 1) 
  • Pigs On The Wing (Part 2) 

The Wall (1979)
  • In The Flesh
    • In The Flesh? 
    • In The Flesh 
  • Another Brick In The Wall
    • Another Brick In The Wall Part 1
    • Another Brick In The Wall Part 2
    • Another Brick In The Wall Part 3

The Final Cut (1983)
  • The Hero's Return Part 1 
  • The Hero's Return Part 2 (the 2nd part was cut from the official album but can be found on various bootlegs)

Profiles (1985) (Nick Mason's album with Rick Fenn of 10cc, under the name Mason+Fenn) 
  • Profiles (Parts 1 & 2) 
  • Profiles (Part 3) 

Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking (1985)
  • 4:39 AM (For The First Time Today, Part 2) 
  • 4:56 AM (For The First Time Today, Part 1) (yes, they're in this order in the track listing)

A Momentary Lapse of Reason (1987)
  • A New Machine Part 1 
  • A New Machine Part 2

Amused to Death (1992)
  • What God Wants 
    • What God Wants Part I
    • What God Wants Part II
    • What God Wants Part III
  • Perfect Sense Part
    • Perfect Sense Part I
    • Perfect Sense Part II
  • Late Home Tonight
    • Late Home Tonight Part I
    • Late Home Tonight Part II

Copyright The FinAle[x] Cut .
Back to the index