February's DVD Reviews, Part I
Quick reviews from my Netflix queue and/or the library.



Reefer Madness, 2005
I could forgive this musical's one-to-one correspondence of character for character and plot point for plot point with The Rocky Horror Picture Show, but though the campiness here was great, the music itself wasn't.  Excellent cast, however.  Ironically, I only rented it to see Kristen Bell, but her performance was among the weakest precisely because she is too smart to play a character as dumb as hers was supposed to be.  Great on the eyes though.

Syriana, 2005
Traffic is to drugs what Syriana is to oil.  Basically, it's refined but ubiquitous.  Same as you find at the pump.

Stay, 2005
There were some interesting visuals involved in the transitions, but I didn't buy the premise for a second and saw the end coming in 1990 when Jacob's Ladder came out.  Go rent that instead unless you're Dani and have a crush on Ewan McGreggor.

Scoop, 2005
One of your usual later, not-too-terribly funny films from Woody Allen.  I know he's prolific, but I have a long list of films by him I would recommend over this one.

Inside Man, 2006
Pretty good little crime caper movie, but skip it unless you're me and you have a crush on Jodie Foster.

Veronica Mars, Season 1, Discs 5 and 6, 2005
Okay, I splurged on Kristen Bell projects this month.  The library had the last two in the season, so I went for it.  Good wrap-up, but too much too quickly.  Save something for next season, damn it!

The Dick Cavett Show, 196?
Collections of interviews with people worth talking to back when talk shows did that: Show people talking.

Inside Deep Throat, 2005
You would think documentaries (except perhaps medical ones) would be at the opposite end of the spectrum from pornos, but this one is remarkably interesting in terms of how involved the story is, and it pack quite a bit more material than your usual oral histories.  Wait.  That sounded kind of dirty.

I Spit On Your Grave, 1978
I am honestly at a loss.  I cannot tell you whether I love this movie or hate it.  Let's just say that if you thought Hard Candy was intense, you're in for some serious trauma.

The Illusionist, 2006
That they stretched a 45 minute episode of Alfred Hitchcock Presents into a two hour movie...?  That, Ladies and Gentlemen, is magic!

The Hills Have Eyes, 1977
I'm surprised how little updating they did to the original in the 2005 remake.  Both are crap, notable only for the phenomenal violence to plot ratio, thanks especially to the demonimator here being lower than the demographic they were aiming for.

Alias: Season 3: Disc 1, 2003
Honestly, I'm consistently amazed at the way the show manages to keep itself fresh.  It's always one step ahead of me.

Extras: Season 1: Disc 2, 2005
Ricky Gervais will hate me for saying this because he likes surprises, and this won't be one: The show is good, but The Office was so much better.  I like this, but I don't love it.  I can be friends with it after a few more dates, but I'm going to marry The Office.

Henry & June, 1990
This film gained notoriety as the first NC-17 picture.  But you know what?  It is really, really good.  Contrary to some reviews, the sex is never gratuitous at least in part since, after all, that's what the movie is about.

Gilmore Girls: Season 5: Disc 5, 2004
They're running out of material.  Probably because the girls talk so fast than they've written about ten seasons worth of dialogue to get them only this far.

Crank Yankers: Season 2: Vol. 1: Disc 2, 2002
Heh.  Cute.  Forgetable fun, although that's not what the victims or their lawyers would call it.

In Old Arizona, 1928
Speaking of a certain Old Arizona Senator's position on Iraq, here's another case of stretching too little material too far.

PICKS OF THE LITTER: Henry & June because it was really, really, good and I Spit On Your Grave because a cocktail of moonshine and battery acid isn't this strong.

February's DVD Reviews, Part II
Quick reviews from my Netflix queue and/or the library.



Veronica Mars, Season 2, Disc 1, 2006
There's only one girl to look at on this one compared to Desperate Housewives, yet this series is infinitely better at holding my interest after resolving most of its first-season story arcs.

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, 2005
I only checked this one out because someone at Lisa's birthday party swore it was good.  Well, it was pretty good, but it wasn't great.  In other words, it wasn't much more interesting than this review.

Six Feet Under, Season 5, Discs 1 & 2, 2006
I love it.  Don't think the irony isn't lost on me.  The show is explicitly about death and yet it expertly handles the existential questions we all deal with in life.  That just kills me.

Desperate Housewives, Season 2, Disc 5, 2006
It started to get interesting again at the last, but I think they lost most of their viewers before this point when it aired.  I wouldn't have even paid attention through most of this season had it not been for the miracle of the FF button.

Desperate Housewives, Season 2, Disc 6, 2006
Just extras.  They're interesting, but nothing mind-blowing like what's really going on in your neighbors' lives.  Get out your binoculars if you doubt me.

Veronica Mars, Season 2, Disc 2, 2006
All the complaints I can come up with about this show are mere nitpicking and have absolutely nothing to do with her ass.

South Park: Greatest Hits, Vol 1, 2006
I tried watching the series from the beginning when they started putting it out on dvd, but I didn't have the time to sit through the awkward episodes before they found their stride.  It was nice to be able to jump in and catch the most talked about episodes that once left me wondering what people were talking about.

The Ice Harvest, 2006
Oliver Platt steals the show in a supporting part, which is a good measure of how weak the rest of the script is.

Veronica Mars, Season 2, Disc 3, 2006
Did I mention that I love her ass?  Yeah, there are more reasons to watch on the show than that, but that tops my list.

An Inconvenient Truth, 2006
Aside from a few sappy detours that seemed like thought bubbles, it's like sitting through a college lecture with a great teacher and good special effects.  Of course, if you didn't like college, then you'll probably be bored, but that doesn't mean you don't have to know the material, okay?

The L Word: Season 3: Disc 1, 2006
Yeah, I know it's just a soap opera about lesbians, but it's so much fun to root for my favorite characters that it never crosses my mind how little interest they would have in seeing me naked.

Alias: Season 3: Disc 2, 2003
I honestly have no idea what's going on sometimes.  They've twisted so many threads around one another that you can't see past the shroud they've woven out of everything.  That's pretty impressive for a show most people would already watch just to see Jennifer Garner in the sexy disguise of the week.

Super Inframan, 1975
This was just a nostalgia trip for me since I saw it when I was a kid.  It's nothing more than an early version of the Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers, but far more interesting was the included hour and a half of badly-made trailers to badly made Chinese movies.

The Office: Season 2: Disc 4, 2005
I feel a lot like Jim.  Lots of funny things happen there, but the main reason I keep coming back to this Office is because I'm in love with Pam.

Gilmore Girls: Season 5: Disc 6, 2004
I know you need confused and emotional characters to keep a show interesting, but when Rorie pulls her little drama queen routine, I just want to slap her.

For Your Consideration, 2006
Another ensemble Christopher Guest movie.  Big surprise this time though: It wasn't very good.  Check out any of his other films instead.  They actually are worth your consideration.

Alias: Season 3: Disc 3, 2003
What can I say, I don't care how his career is doing, Jennifer Garner makes me wish I was Ben Affleck.

Jabberwocky, 1977
Remember how good Monty Python's Holy Grail was?  Well, here are all the left-over ideas that sat around for a couple years.  They weren't good enough to have been used to begin with, by the time Terry Gilliam got around to putting them on film, they were completely stale.

PICK OF THE LITTER: Six Feet Under.  This show has never failed to captivate me and has never give me cause to complain.  It's so unassuming that I worry that it will be forgotten now that it has concluded its run, and I don't want this review to be as substantial a headstone as it can get.




Copyright 2007 Ale[x]plorer.
Back to the index